EXPRESSION of THANKING

Let’s study the following expression of thanking bellow :

  • I’m very grateful for …
  • I’m so grateful for …
  • Thank you very much for …
  • Thank you so much for …
  • Thank you for …
  • That was nice of you. Thank you.
  • That was nice of you.
  • Thank you. But you really shouldn’t have
  • They’re beautiful but you didn’t need to (give me anything)
  • Thanks a lot for …
  • I really appreciate …
  • Thanks.
  • Thanks a million.
Response of Thanking :
  • You’re very/ quite welcome.
  • You’re entirely welcome.
  • Don’t mention it.
  • You’re welcome.
  • It was my pleasure.
  • Don’t mention it.
  • You’re welcome.
  • Well, I just wanted to show my appreciation for …
  • But I wanted to.
  • You’re welcome
  • Sure
  • It was nothing. What are friends for?
  • Don’t worry about it
  • Forget it.
Other Expressions of Thanks:
FORMAL

  • I’m really grateful to you.
  • I do appreciate …
  • I’m very much obliged to you.
  • That is very good of you.
  • I really can’t thank you enough.
  • I should like to say how grateful I am.
  • I should like to express my gratitude.
INFORMAL
  • Thank you.
  • Thank you very much.
  • Many thanks.
  • Thank you very much indeed.
  • Thanks.
  • Thanks a lot.
  • Thanks a million
  • Cheers.
  • Cheers.

In General, People Thank Someone:

  • For gift (an expressions of thanks, a compliment on the gift, a question relating to the gift)
  • For favors (doing something for another person that the doer had no obligation to do)
  • For an offer of help
  • For a compliment and a wish of success
  • When asked about their health
  • For an invitation
  • When leaving a party or social gathering
  • For services, such as being waited in a store

Expressing thanks for failed attempt:

  • Thank you for trying.
  • I appreciate your help anyway.
  • Thank you very much for your effort.
  • Thanks, anyway.
  • Thanks a lot for trying, at least.
  • I’m sorry it didn’t work out.
  • Perhaps you’ll have better luck next time.
  • Sorry it didn’t work out.
  • Sure. Too bad it didn’t work.

PRACTICE

Complete the following short conversations with the correct phrases for responses. Read the cues and discuss the relationships of the speakers and the level of formality

1) Alice  : Thanks a lot. The flowers are beautiful.

Diego : ………………………………..

 

2). Janet   : I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for………

Britney : ………………………………………..

Janet    : …………………………………………

3) John  : …………………………………………..

Marry  : ………………………………….. , but you really shouldn’t have.

John    : …………………………………………..

Marry  : …………………………………………….

 

4) Diva   : Thank a lot for …………………………………

Mulan : ………………………………………………….

 

5) Alex    : I’m very grateful to you for ……………………………

Ken     : …………………………………………………………….

Alex    : …………………………………………………………….

Ken     : …………………………………………………………….

2 responses to “EXPRESSION of THANKING

Tinggalkan Balasan

